International Conference in Paris

I have been dominating the blog lately and I thought all of you might like a break from all application, all the time posts.  The following is information contributed by Kristoffer Tangri, a second-year SIPA student from Germany pursuing a MIA degree with a concentration in International Security Policy.


Six SIPA students will be participating at a high level international conference on the politics and economics of the international financial system. The conference takes place on the 7th and 8th of January in Paris. Accommodation and travel costs will be fully covered by the French Ministry of Immigration, Integration, National identity and Solidarity Development through SIPA’s partner school at Sciences Po Paris.

Programme and Speakers (subject to change)

1st Round Table: “Have we tackled well the crisis?” (Thursday 7 January, 10h30-13h)

Christine Lagarde, Minister of Economy and Finance (France)
Giulio Tremonti, Minister of Economy and Finance (Italy)
Jean Paul Fitoussi, Economist, President, OFCE
Jean Claude Trichet, President, ECB
Mohammed Ibn Chambas, Executive Director, CEDEAO
Anders Borg, Minister of Finance (Sweden)
Lubna Olayan, Chief of Enterprise

2nd Round Table: “New world, new governance” (Thursday 7 January, 15h-17h30)

Jacques Attali, Economist, Consultant
Howard Davies, Director, London School of Economics
Taib Fassi-Fihri, Minister of Foreign Affairs (Morocco)
Joseph Stiglitz, Economist, Nobel Prize winner 2001
Celso Amorim, Minister of Foreign Affairs (Brazil)
Bozidan Djelic, Deputy President Minister and Minister of European Affairs (Serbia)
Jean-Pierre Jouyet, Director, AMF
Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Director General, World Bank

3rd Round Table: “After the crisis: Should we change our vision of the world?” (Friday 8 January, 9h-11h30)

Helen Alexander, President, Patronal Syndicate, CBI (UK)
Pascal Lamy, Secretary General, World Trade Organization
Alain Minc, Director of Enterprise, Consultant
Michel Rocard, Former Prime Minister (France)
Jeffrey Sachs, Economist, Advisor to Secretary General of the UNO
Amartya Sen, Economist, Nobel Prize winner, 2006
Gamal Mubarak, Assistant Secretary General, National Democratic Party (Egypt)
Mary Robinson, Former President of Ireland, President, IIDE